The National Archaeological Museum of Venosa

The national archaeological museum of Venosa is contiguous to the walls of the Aragonese castle, commissioned by Pirro del Balzo in 1470. Inaugurated in 1991, the museum itinerary includes five sections ranging from prehistoric and pre-Roman times to the High Middle Ages. Numerous epigraphs, mostly of funerary kind, are displayed to visitors. Since 1996, the museum has showcased a section dedicated to prehistory, from the lower Palaeolithic to the Metal Age.